20 Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens Books To Release This Fall
10 Mar. 2015

20 Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens Books To Release This Fall

Entertainment Weekly has learned some exclusive information regarding the release of a variety of different books leading up to the release of “The Force Awakens” that will help fill that gap between “Return of the Jedi” and Episode VII. These group of books will be known as “Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” and will contain a variety of different styles of books including novels, comics, teen books, storybooks and even stickerbooks.

This series of new books will be released this fall, where both Disney Worldwide Publishing and Lucasfilm confirm they will have Easter eggs from “The Force Awakens” included in them. While many of the books in “Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens” line still remain a mystery,  Entertainment Weekly did learn some details about a few of the upcoming books. Here is what they are reporting some of the “Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens” books will include:

A few titles we can confirm are Del Rey’s Star Wars: Aftermath, which sounds like it may serve as an epilogue to the original trilogy—and perhaps a prologue to the new one. Meanwhile, Marvel Comics will put out one prequel called Star Wars: Journey to the Force Awakens and another preview story told from C-3PO’s perspective. For vehicle enthusiasts, Studio Fun International will print Star Wars: Ships of the Galaxy.

Also intriguing, although not strictly part of the “Journey To …” the next movie: Look for a series of novels retelling the events of A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi from the perspective of various supporting characters. Which ones? The publishers aren’t saying just yet.

Disney-Lucasfilm Press will release novels that focus on characters from the original trilogy. The aim is for YA readers, providing a deep dive to readers who were decades from being born when Han, Luke, and Leia first hit the screen. “It’s a way to introduce the heroes and villains of that original trilogy to a new audience that might not be as familiar as the audience that went and saw the films when they first came out,” Sugerman said.

Cecil Castellucci (author of Tin Star) will write Moving Target, an adventure following Princess Leia; Jason Fry, who earlier wrote Darth Maul: Shadow Conspiracy, will be the author of The Weapon of a Jedi, about Luke Skywalker; Claudia Gray, author of the Evernight series of fantasy books, will write a book titled Lost Stars; and Greg Rucka, a comic book scribe and writer of the Atticus Kodiak novels, will pen Smuggler’s Run, a Han Solo tale.

We’ve heard rumors last fall about Lucasfilm and Disney planning a big release of books to help fill the gap between “Return of the Jedi” and “The Force Awakens,” but it’s great to now have it be confirmed, as well as to have an official title for the group of books. And Knowing that all these stories will be in cannon now, it’s gonna be hard to pass on any of these new “Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens” books, just so we can know the state of the galaxy and what are favorite characters have been up to after the events of “Return of the Jedi”!

Be sure to check out the full article over at Entertainment Weekly, for more information on the process of how “Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens” came about.

About the author


Related posts

New Worldwide Events Announced For Force Friday II
August 30, 2017 - 0 comment
Find The Force Augmented Reality Event Announced For Force Friday II
August 24, 2017 - 0 comment
Disney Unveils Full Model Of Star Wars Land
July 14, 2017 - 0 comment
Episode IX Release Date Announced
Episode IX Release Date Announced
April 25, 2017 - 0 comment

Leave a Reply

* fields required