07 Apr. 2015

Star Wars The Digital Movie Collection Releasing April 10th!

It’s something we’ve been hearing about for awhile now, but the “Star Wars” saga is officially being  released digitally on April 10th! And while getting all six movies released digitally is awesome enough, each film will also come with a set special features!

Here is the official press release about  “Star Wars The Digital Movie Collection” sent to us by Lucasfilm, including the list of all the special features for each film, as well as an awesome new trailer!

Disney, Lucasfilm and 20th Century Fox Announce

The most iconic movie collection of all time

Becomes available for the first time

On Digital HD on April 10, 2015

Now the Force will be with you – everywhere!

BURBANK, Calif. – April 6, 2015 – As anticipation builds for the December release of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, the first new film in the Star Wars Saga in a decade, The Walt Disney Studios, Lucasfilm Ltd., and 20th Century Fox today announced the upcoming release of The Star Wars Digital Movie Collection. For the first time ever, all six epic films in the Saga, from The Phantom Menace to Return of the Jedi, will be available on Digital HD throughout the galaxy – or at least here on Earth – globally beginning Friday, April 10.

“Since the debut of the first film nearly 40 years ago, Star Wars has become a worldwide phenomenon with legions of fans from every generation,” said Alan Bergman, President, The Walt Disney Studios. “It’s only fitting that audiences enjoy this legendary Saga and its many fascinating behind-the-scenes stories on a wide variety of platforms, and we’re very excited to finally bring all six films to Digital HD for the first time.”

 “We’re thrilled that fans will be able to enjoy the Star Wars Saga on their digital devices wherever they go,” commented Lucasfilm President Kathleen Kennedy. “These films broke new ground in technology, design, sound, and visual effects, and we’ve created some very special bonus material which delves into the Saga’s rich history, including new and never-before-released conversations between legendary Star Wars artists – the masters who helped George bring his iconic universe to life.”

With Star Wars: Episodes I-VI available for purchase as a complete digital movie collection and individually, viewers will have the Rebel forces at their beck and call across their favorite devices anywhere – sunbathing at the beach, relaxing in their living room with friends, or waiting to board a flight to Endor (or elsewhere).

Enhancing the movie collection are a host of never-before-seen special features including Star Wars: Discoveries from Inside and insightful Conversations between key contributors from across this celebrated film franchise, plus a curated collection of classic Star Wars extras from each film. These are the droids you’re looking for:


*Digital bonus offerings may vary by retailer         

STAR WARS EPISODE I: The Phantom Menace

·       Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back

·       Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures

·       Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.

 STAR WARS EPISODE II:  Attack of the Clones

·       Conversations: Sounds In Space

·       Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed

Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

 STAR WARS EPISODE III: Revenge of the Sith

·       Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was

·       Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers

Legacy content includes documentaries “Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III”; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.

 STAR WARS EPISODE IV: A New Hope (20th Century Fox)

·       Conversations: Creating A Universe

·       Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber

 Legacy content includes “Anatomy Of A Dewback”; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

 STAR WARS EPISODE V: The Empire Strikes Back

·       Conversations: The Lost Interviews

·       Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled

Legacy content includes “A Conversation With The Masters” (2010); “Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk”; “George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979”; and “George Lucas On The Force: 2010”; plus six deleted scenes.

 STAR WARS EPISODE VI: Return of the Jedi

·       Conversations: The Effects

·       Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt

Legacy content includes “Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi”; “Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer”; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; “It Began TV Spot”; “Climactic Chapter TV Spot”; plus five deleted scenes.


A new home release for “Star Wars” is always exciting in my book, and while I was always looking forward to a digital release of all six films, the fact that they’re getting new special features included with the Legacy ones puts this over the top! Now we can watch any “Star Wars” movie we want while we wait on line for panels at Celebration Anaheim next week!

About the author


Related posts

Episode 160: Ranking The Saga
Episode 160: Ranking The Saga
July 4, 2020 - 0 comment
Episode 137: Saga Commentary – A New Hope
Episode 137: Saga Commentary – A New Hope
August 24, 2019 - 0 comment
Original Star Wars Producer Gary Kurtz Passes Away
Original Star Wars Producer Gary Kurtz Passes Away
September 24, 2018 - 0 comment
New Details On The Cantina Coming To Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge
New Details On The Cantina Coming To Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge
August 30, 2018 - 0 comment

Leave a Reply

* fields required